Wednesday, March 30, 2011

I'm behind.

Sorry I missed yesterday. When soccer calls…
Yesterday was a long day. It started the way every one does, sleepwalking through breakfast. After breakfast we went to the worksite, and I did the same thing I’ve been doing so far: wheelbarrowing mud so the people lining the walls could put the mud up. There were 6 in the back and around 10 on the walls, and the time flew by because we were listening to Matt tell his life story. It was a great story, and led to some quality conversation for the 3 ½ hours of shoveling, hoeing, and wheelbarrowing. After that was lunch, where everyone got ready for their 2 hour naptime. While this happened, I slipped away with Ally and Meghan. This is where I get rebellious, so mom, you’re not allowed to read this.
We’ve been told plenty of times the taxi service is unsafe, and we aren’t supposed to use them. With that in mind, we followed Ally (she came to study a couple semesters ago, and planned to come over winter break but never went back to America so she’s working with us at Walk in the Light) to a taxi (a van with room for 12 comfortably but regularly fitting around 15) and took the half hour ride into town. While I love that I’ve been in South Africa this whole time, I’ve never been in the real South Africa the way I was yesterday. Walking the streets, the only white people were the two I was with, and I wasn’t followed by a mob of Americans. We just went for ice cream, and McDonalds was out so we had KFC’s cones. They were delicious and after we grabbed them we headed back with the taxi service. It was so interesting to see that, and drive through the townships and interact with the people from the townships. Just sitting on the taxi and being surrounded by the conversation was an entirely new experience. We got back around 2 hours later, and I just sat around with the guys as the girls spent time with the go-gos. The time led into a game of soccer, as it always does, and then we headed back to AE.
After we got to AE, we played soccer with the new ball we purchased and I killed it. Honestly, I did really well and it was so much fun. I can’t wait until I get back to AZ and play soccer with my friends to prove to them how great I am. It will be so good.
We stopped for dinner, and after dinner I planned to skype Ryan. Turns out, I can’t translate time and was off, so I skyped Phil instead. Best unexpected conversation I’ve had in quite some time. I love that man.
After that we set up The Fighter and watched that. Still a great movie. After that I went right to sleep to get ready for a long day again. And that led to today, but I have to go because it’s time for our dinner event. I’ll be back soon! Love you all.

No comments:

Post a Comment