Thursday, January 20, 2011

Day 1 (ish)

Tonight is the first night in Africa. It’s been over two years since I’ve been here, and it’s really weird being back. I see things I remember, like the terminal in DC, the bug spray in Senegal, and the customs area in Johannesburg. It’s weird how familiar it all is.
We left at 3:30 in the morning Pacific Time, and landed at 5:30 at night South Africa time, the next day. We are 38 hours into the future from when we left, but were traveling for 28 hours. I left on two hours of sleep, and got probably two hours on the plane. But I am running on adrenaline right now! So excited to be here finally. It’s noon in Cali right now, but seeing as I’ve gotten 4 hours of sleep in the last 50 hours, I’m ready to go to bed. I’m not sure how jet lag will affect me, but I’m exhausted and pretty good at sleeping, so I’m not too worried about it.
Now that we’re gone, we’ve started to get to know people, and I am really excited about the relationships I’ll be forming this semester. I know a lot of people here at least a little bit, which will mean that I don’t have to go through that awkward “I should know you but I don’t and I don’t want to acknowledge that I don’t know you because I should but I won’t get to know you if I don’t acknowledge I don’t know you” stage. I also got to meet Reg, who’s basically in charge of everything here, and talked to him with Mitch for like 15 to 20 minutes about life. It was definitely good to get the first interaction out of the way and really meet him. And I also met Reegan, who Taylor told me I need to get to know because he’s great. I’m so excited to eventually be able to interact regularly with all these guys, and these people on the trip, and that’s the thing I’m most excited about right now.
Sorry for the ADD writing. Something about lack of sleep.

No comments:

Post a Comment