Maybe it isn't so bad. It's 7:05, and I've been up for over an hour. That just means I'll be up early this summer, so maybe I'll actually be able to run consistently and be in shape for Ultimate in the fall.
Irrelevant. That's not even too important.
I just wanted to let everyone know how hard this is going to be for me. I drove home with my mom yesterday, and I talked her ear off for the entire 6 hours. She never complained, but I showed no sign of stopping. Then when I got back, I talked about it for the next 4 hours on and off while watching basketball and doing laundry. No one other than my parents would have put up with me talking about South Africa for 10 hours, and people won't want to listen to me. I can actually count on one hand the number of people I know will really want to hear about it, and over half of those people I've already seen or told about it.
The reverse culture shock is going to be people not really caring about my time in South Africa. Or wanting to hear about it for a couple minutes, and then getting tired of it. So the only way I'll get through is blogging here. Let the emotions pour in, because that's what I need out of this blog. I needed it as a journal before, so I talked about events. But now I need it as a diary, so prepare for some emotional examination. Even if no one reads. I'll still be writing.
No comments:
Post a Comment